browser icon
You are using an insecure version of your web browser. Please update your browser!
Using an outdated browser makes your computer unsafe. For a safer, faster, more enjoyable user experience, please update your browser today or try a newer browser.

National selection for Baker

Posted by on 29/06/2018

Georgia BakerTHE strong form of Perth team pursuit specialist Georgia Baker was acknowledged yesterday when she was selected in the Australian team for the opening round of the 2014-15 UCI Track Cycling World Cup in Guadalajara, Mexico.

The 20-year-old former multiple junior world champion, who won the national team pursuit title with fellow Tasmanians Amy Cure, Lauren Perry and Macey Stewart earlier in the year, is part of a team of 16, one of the four women selected for the endurance category.

The overall team includes five of Australia’s Glasgow Commonwealth Games gold medallists Anna Meares, Matthew Glaetzer, Annette Edmondson, Glenn O’Shea and Steph Morton.

‘‘The team for the opening round of the series has a great blend of experience through some of our world and Commonwealth champions in Meares and Glaetzer,’’ national performance director of Cycling Australia Kevin Tabotta said.

‘‘What is also exciting is the number of junior world champions who have progressed to the elite ranks this year who will have the opportunity to experience world class track cycling during this series.’’

The opening round will be held on November 7-9, the first in a three-round series that carries crucial qualification points for the world championships, which will be held in Paris in February, and 2016 Olympic qualification.

It will feature a three-day program of Olympic events beginning with team sprint and pursuit qualifying on Friday afternoon, with the finals to be held on the Saturday alongside the men’s keirin and women’s sprint.

The Sunday will feature the men’s and women’s omnium, men’s sprint and women’s keirin.

AUSTRALIAN TEAM: Endurance Men: Glenn O’Shea (SA/Formerly VIC), Sam Welsford (WA) Tirian McManus (NSW), Daniel Fitter (QLD), Miles Scotson (SA).

Endurance Women: Annette Edmonson (SA), Georgia Baker (TAS), Elissa Wundersitz (WA), Rebecca Wiasak (ACT).

Sprint Men: Matthew Glaetzer(SA), Peter Lewis (NSW) (JAYCO-AIS), Jacob Schmind(VIC), Daniel Ellis (SA/Formerly ACT)

Sprint Women: Anna Meares (SA/Formerly QLD) (JAYCO-AIS), Stephanie Morton (SA). Kaarle McCulloch (NSW)

This story Administrator ready to work first appeared on Nanjing Night Net.

Comments are closed.